Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_lax/wp-settings.php on line 520 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_lax/wp-settings.php on line 535 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_lax/wp-settings.php on line 542 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_lax/wp-settings.php on line 578 Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_lax/wp-settings.php on line 18 Schedule « 140 Character Conference

Schedule

Day 1 - 10/04/2010 | Day 2 - 10/05/2010 Print
Last updated on 03/10/2010
8:00am
Registration opens



9:00am
Welcome to #140conf: LA


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder, #140conf

9:15am
Every tweet matters


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder, #140conf

9:25am
You Don't Need a Social Media Strategy


Participants:
Eric Weaver (@Weave) - Director of Digital Strategy, Tribal DDB

9:35am
Evolution of Influence in the era of the Real-Time Web


Participants:
Adam Zbar (@Tap11) - CEO, Tap11
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder, curator #140conf
Joe Fernandez (@JoeFernandez) - founder, Klout

9:50am
Twitter in the Ivory Tower
Exploring ways Twitter can play a key role in bridging the gap between the general public and the ivory tower.

Participants:
Johanna Blakley (@Mojojohanna) - Arts, entertainment & media researcher based at USC Annenberg School's Norman Lear Center.

10:00am
Window on the Real-time Web from the standpoint of neurotech
Being driven by a wild quixotic need to transform how we learn, live, create and love, I want to talk with others about the elegant and hacker's way in which tech (twitter) connects and inspires inquiry into the forefront of art/sci/tech of brain science.

Participants:
Dr. Greenstein (@DRG) - Chief Brainiac at bodiesinspace.com and Neuroleader/CEO of The GGI

10:10am
Trust and Reliability
In a real-time, expanding media environment, it's hard to know what and whom to trust. Breaking news is often wrong, and always incomplete. Say to yourself, when a sensational item flashes on your screen,

Participants:
Dan Gillmor (@dangillmor) - A life in media — music, newspapers, online, books, investing and education.

10:25am
Real-Time Communication and Education Transformation
We will focus on RTC's impact on education reform and the challenges educators face in implementing RTC. We will talk about the passionate network of educators who use RTC daily to help their students learn and for professional development. We will discus

Participants:
Aparna Vashisht-Rota (@ApsatParentella)
Lisa Dabbs (@teachingwthsoul) - former California school administrator, education consultant
Sylvia Martinez (@smartinez) - President of Generation Yes
Tanya Roscorla (@reportertanya) - Education reporter and writer

10:45am
Catching up with Nick Cannon


Participants:
Nick Cannon (@NickCannon) - American Actor, Comedian, Rapper, and Television Personality.

11:00am
Entertainment and twitter: A conversation with Matt Bennett


Participants:
Matt Bennett (@MattBennett) - Actor
Natalie Lent (@natalielent) - Director, Emerging Platforms, ID PR

11:15am
One on One with Michelle Branch


Participants:
David Wild (@Wildaboutmusic) - TV Writer, Rolling Stone Contributing Editor, Huff Po Blogger, author `He Is . . . I Say'
Michelle Branch (@michellebranch) - Music Artist

11:30am
Find out Things on Twitter You Didn't Know About Yourself


Participants:
Jennifer Cisney (@kodakCB) - Kodak's Chief Blogger & Social Media Manager

11:40am
Real-time News Gathering
A discussion about the real-time web and it's effect on News Gathering

Participants:
Jon Lansner (@jonlan) - Columnist/blogger for O.C. Register.
Martin Beck (@latimesbeck) - Editor of Reader Engagement, Los Angeles Times
Phil Hulett (@philhulett) - Co-Host of LA's Morning News on KFWB, Anaheim Ducks PA Announcer, Voiceover Artist, Co-Founder of KNAC.COM, Internet Marketer
Robert Hernandez (@webjournalist) - @USCAnnenberg MacGyvering Web journalism solutions. Worked @ seattletimes.com, SFGate.com, eXaminer.com, La Prensa Gráfica, others. Co-founder of #wjchat.

12:00pm
Could Social Media Be The Missing Puzzle Piece Autism Has Been Looking For?
A candid interview with Robert Moran; a Journalism student WITH Autism who writes for Examiner.com, Demand Media, & has interned with major news networks such as Fox News and ABC7.com.

Participants:
Robert Moran (@RobertMoranLA) - Cal State Fullerton journalism student. Avid social media user and LA transit rider who HAS AUTISM.
Stacey Soleil (@staceysoleil) - Moderator; Long time Autism awareness advocate, Mother of 3 & Owner/CEO of Soleil Marketing Services (SMS)

12:10pm
Life in Haiti in the era of the Real-Time Web


Participants:
Luke Renner (@firesideint) - Founder & President, Fireside International

12:20pm
The Most Important Thing About Real Time Is...


Participants:
Owen JJ Stone (@Ohdoctah) - President of Inquiring Mindz Media (IQMZ)

12:30pm
#Squish, a new way to share love on and offline.


Participants:
Angela Shelton (@angelashelton) - Performer Writer Storyteller Filmmaker Teacher Artist

12:40pm
Living Social Media: From the perspective of a Street Perfomer


Participants:
Eric "CandyMan" Nash (@onelovecandyman) - Street Performer: Artist, Dancer, Actor

12:50pm
Intermission



2:00pm
A Look behind LOOK: TV will never be the same


Participants:
Barry Schuler (@BSchuler) - former CEO of AOL, Ex Producer of LOOK, Managing Director DFJ Growth Fund

2:05pm
LOOK: Building TV Show Buzz with the Real-Time Web


Participants:
Adam Rifkin (@AdamRifkin) - Writer / Director, LOOK
Ali Cobrin (@AliCobrin) - Actress
Barry Schuler (@BSchuler) - former CEO of AOL, Ex Producer of LOOK, Managing Director DFJ Growth Fund
Brad Wyman (@bradwyman) - Producer, Look
Sharon Hinnendael (@SharonHinnendae) - Actress

2:25pm
Discovering Serendipity


Participants:
Sol Lipman (@thesolster) - co-founder, 12Seconds.tv

2:35pm
Catching up with Greg Grunberg


Participants:
George Ruiz (@georgeruiz) - Head of New Media, Senior Vice-President Business Affairs at ICM
Greg Grunberg (@greggrunberg) - American television actor

2:45pm
Foodie Panel


Participants:
Adam Bell (@datatv) - Web Design and Branding with an attitude!
Cathy Dahn (@GastronomyBlog) - Food Blogger
Erik Oberholtzer (@TenderGreens) - Chefs at Tender Greens, garden to table, sustainable cuisine
Nastassia Johnson (@manilamachine) - L.A.'s First Filipino Food Truck.

3:05pm
Photography and the Real-Time Web


Participants:
Mike Harkey (@mharkey) - Managing Director, ImageShack Corporation

3:15pm
Real-time Web & Medicine
How the real-time web is changing the lives of my cancer patients.

Participants:
krupali tejura, m.d. (@krupali)

3:25pm
Andy Grammer performs in Real-Time


Participants:
Andy Grammer (@andygrammer) - Music Artist

3:45pm
Update from Google: State of Real-time Search


Participants:
Rishi Khaitan (@itsrishi) - Product Manager for Realtime Search, Google

3:55pm
Real-time web & Indie Filmmaking


Participants:
Jason Pollock (@Jason_Pollock) - Filmmaker, Writer, and Activist.

4:05pm
Broadcasting from the classroom


Participants:
Clinton Schaff (@clintschaff) - USC Online Communities Industry Faculty

4:15pm
The Convergence of New Media & Entertainmen


4:25pm
Farming, Cattle Ranching and the real-time web


Participants:
Jeff Fowle (@JeffFowle) - Owner-Operator / President, KK Bar Ranch & AgChat Foundation
Ray Prock Jr. (@RayLinDairy)

4:35pm
The Real-time web & the Emerging Consciousness


Participants:
Michele Meiche (@michelemeiche) - Conscious Media Producer, AwakeningsRadio,Writer,Yoga, SoulPath,Meditation, Metaphysics,Spiritualism MysticTech,Poetry PsychicChannel,SpiritualCoach

4:45pm
Real-Time Beyond Twitter


Participants:
Gerry Campbell (@gfcampbell) - CEO, Collecta

4:55pm
Traveling the World with the Real-Time Web


Participants:
Ori Bengal (@CouchSurfingOri) - Adventurer, Photographer & Author

5:05pm
Levelling the Playing Field - Small Companies doing Big Business using the real-time web


Participants:
Alison Kramer (@nummiesbras) - Owner of Nummies Nursing Bras
Ciaran Blumenfeld (@momfluential) - Owner Francie Pants & Producer Momfluential Media
Julie Cole (@juliecole) - VP, Mabel's Labels

5:20pm
Catching up with Jessica Gottlieb


Participants:
Jessica Gottlieb (@JessicaGottlieb) - Wife, Mom, Blogger

5:30pm
A Wondrous Journey: Social Media Powering the Path to Character and Self-Growth
Cathy Brooks in conversation with Actress Traci Dinwiddie (Supernatural)

5:45pm
Power to the People: Democratizing Hollywood Through Social Media


Participants:
Cathy DeBuono (@cathydebuono) - Actress, Producer, Psychotherapist
Jill Bennett (@DailyJill) - Actress, Vlogger
Leyla Farah (@CausePR) - Founding Partner, Cause+Effect, Inc.

6:00pm
NSFW: Is Social Media Appropriate for the Adult Industry?


Participants:
Evan Seinfeld (@EvanSeinfeldXXX) - ead Singer/Bassist for Biohazard, CEO RockStarPornStar
Gram Ponante (@gramponante) - Editor of http://gramponante.com
Kelly Shibari (@KellyShibari) - CEO, Hourglass8 Media
Pete Housley (@petehousley) - CEO, NaughtyTweetNetwork

6:20pm
End of Sessions Day 1



7:30pm
#140conf LA - Cocktail / Networking Party
At the Music Box Theater


10:00pm
End of #140conf Cocktail / Networking Party





* schedule subject to change without notice